## MINUTES OF MEETING SPRING LAKE IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT

A workshop on Parks and Recreation was held Wednesday, February 8, 2012 at 11:00 a.m. at the District Office, 115 Spring Lake Boulevard, Sebring, Florida, Present were:

**Rill Lawens** 

Brian Acker

Leon A. Van Jr.

Gary Behrendt

Tim McKenna

Chairman

Vice Chairman

Secretary

Asst. Secretary

**Assistant Secretary** 

Also present were:

William Nielander

Joe DeCerbo

Diane Angell

Clay Shrum

Attorney

**District Manager** 

Administrator

Asst. District Manager

Residents

Jan Hard, Donna Gibson, Barbara Tucker

Brian Acker stated that the demographics for Spring Lake in 2009 were 1952 registered voters including Village I. The population increases during the winter months by probably at least 1,000. There are currently 4,120 total units paying the parks and recreation assessment. 1490 residential units 36% and 2630 non-residential units 64%.

Discussion was held on the Tennis Court lighting. Replacing the lighting system would cost over \$9,000. Currently several of the lights are still working and we are gathering information on how cost effective it would be to maintain the existing lighting system.

The combination for access to Arbuckle Creek Park is now being given out on a yearly basis. Residents must fill out paperwork and give a copy of their driver's license. They are given an individual code and a copy of the rules and regulations for the park.

Discussion was held on the Community Center regarding usage and repairs that need to be made to the existing facility. The locks need to be changed and discussion was held on getting a combination lock system. There needs to be more key control with existing groups and organizations and accountability. Discussion was held on utilizing a tier level for the deposit based on the number of attendees.

The working group will meet to research information and will report back to the Board their findings.

ON MOTION by Leon Van, seconded by Tim McKenna with all in favor the meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.

Bill Lawens, Chairman

Leon A. Van Jr., Secretary